The sun risesin the east

The sun rises
in the east

Glance into a bright hotel room

East Hotel

The design hotel in St. Pauli

The design hotel east Hamburg on St. Pauli has 172 uniquely designed rooms in different categories and sizes from 25m² to 70m². The rooms are equipped with free-standing beds, modern technical equipment and open-plan bathrooms. Each room has a king-size bed, free WiFi with a speed of up to 15 Mbit / s, air conditioning, Sky entertainment TV, Bluetooth speaker, minibar, safe and desk.

  • 172 hotel rooms
  • In the heart of St. Pauli
  • Sushi restaurant
  • Bars & Lounges
  • east Body & Soul Spa
  • east Sporting Club
  • Dogs welcome

Preferred Hotels & Resorts

The east Hotel Hamburg has been part of the Preferred Hotel Group since January 1st, 2018. Preferred Hotels & Resorts is the world's largest independent hotel brand and represents more than 650 exceptional hotels, resorts and small hotel groups in over 85 countries.


The five globally operating collections - Legend, LVX, Lifestyle, Connect and Preferred Residences - provide discerning travelers with a unique and luxurious travel experience for every occasion.


The so-called excellence standards of the Preferred Hotel Group are checked annually on site by professional, anonymous third-party providers. We are particularly pleased to have been selected as the Hamburg Lifestyle Preferred Hotel by Preferred Hotels & Resorts.

View into the east atrium from the hotel room

There was once...

Black and white photography of the exterior facade of the east hotel construction site

at the time of the iron foundry

The east design hotel opened in 2004 at a historic location. Before 1850, a factory building with foundry furnaces was built on the site. In 1851 the factory was destroyed to the ground by a fire. In 1888 the “St. Pauli Eisenwerke R. Lohse & Co”.


Just four years later, part of the factory was destroyed again by another fire, but it was rebuilt in the same year. The iron works became the "Eisengießerei und Maschinenfabrik Schenck & Co." The foundry with the ovens and casting pans was located on the ground floor of the main hall (today: Yakshi's bar, restaurant, reception).

Black and white photography of the east hotel courtyard

during the Second World War

The coal for firing the stoves was delivered via the casemates (today: part of the east restaurant) on Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse. The "mechanical processing" and the model making workshop with drilling machines, milling machines and lathes were located on the upper floor. The raw materials were delivered from Clemens-Schultz-Strasse and stored in a single-storey hall. A total of around 100 workers at "Schenck & Co." have worked. During the Second World War, a large part of the factory building was destroyed by bombs in 1943. Forty years later, "Schenck & Co." shut down.

Digital model of the east hotel

The creation of the East Hotel

The old iron foundry stood empty for a few years until the idea of establishing an overall gastronomic concept came up.


The hotel project with catering and conference facilities was completed in just 36 months of construction and opened on October 28, 2004.

Tischreservierung

Reservieren Sie einen Tisch im EAST
oder einem unserer anderen
Restaurants

 

east Hamburg

coast by east Hamburg
enoteca Hamburg
clouds Hamburg
coast by east Mallorca
Sansibar Wine Mallorca

The sun rises in the east

The sun rises
in the east

Blick in helles Hotelzimmer

East Hotel

Das Designhotel auf St. Pauli

Das Designhotel east Hamburg auf St. Pauli verfügt über 172 einzigartig gestaltete Zimmer in verschiedenen Kategorien und Größen von 25m² bis 70m². Die Zimmer sind mit freistehenden Betten, modernem technischen Equipment und offen gestalteten Badezimmern ausgestattet. Jedes Zimmer verfügt über ein Kingsize Bett, kostenfreies W-LAN mit einer Geschwindigkeit bis zu 15 MBit/s, Klimaanlage, Sky Entertainment TV, Bluetooth Speaker, Minibar, Safe und Schreibtisch.

  • 172 Hotelzimmer
  • Im Herzen St. Paulis
  • Sushi Restaurant
  • Bars und Lounges
  • east Body & Soul Spa
  • east Sporting Club
  • Hunde willkommen

Preferred Hotels & Resorts

Seit dem 01. Januar 2018 gehört das east Hotel Hamburg dem Verbund der Preferred Hotel Group an. Preferred Hotels & Resorts ist die weltweitgrößte, unabhängige Hotelmarke und vertritt mehr als 650 außergewöhnliche Hotels, Resorts und kleine Hotelgruppen in über 85 Ländern.

Die fünf weltweit operierenden Kollektionen - Legend, LVX, Lifestyle, Connect sowie Preferred Residences - verschaffen anspruchsvollen Reisenden für jeden Anlass ein einzigartiges und luxuriöses Reiseerlebnis.

Die sogenannten Exzellenzstandards der Preferred Hotel Group werden alljährlich vor Ort durch professionelle, anonym auftretende Drittanbieter überprüft. Wir freuen uns besonders, von Preferred Hotels & Resorts als  Hamburger Lifestyle Preferred Hotel ausgewählt worden zu sein.

Blick in das east Atrium von Hotelzimmer aus

es war einmal...

Schwarzweiß Fotografie der Außenfassade der east Hotel Baustelle

zu Zeiten der Eisengießerei

Das east Designhotel eröffnete 2004 an einem geschichtsträchtigen Standort. Vor dem Jahr 1850 war das Gelände mit einem Fabrikgebäude mit Gießereiöfen bebaut. 1851 wurde die Fabrik von einem Feuer bis auf die Grundmauern zerstört. Im Jahr 1888 entstanden auf den Resten der Grundmauern die „St. Pauli Eisenwerke R. Lohse & Co.“.

Nur vier Jahre später wurde durch einen weiteren Brand ein Teil der Fabrik abermals zerstört, aber noch im gleichen Jahr wieder aufgebaut. Aus den Eisenwerken wurde die "Eisengießerei und Maschinenfabrik Schenck & Co." Im Erdgeschoss der Haupthalle befand sich die Gießerei mit den Öfen und Gusspfannen (Heute: Yakshi's Bar, Restaurant, Rezeption).

Schwarzweiß Fotografie der des east Hotel Innenhofs

Zu Zeiten des Zweiten Weltkriegs

Die Anlieferung der Kohle zur Befeuerung der Öfen erfolgte über die Kasematten (Heute: ein Teil des east Restaurants) an der Simon-von-Utrecht-Straße. Im Obergeschoss befanden sich die "mechanische Bearbeitung" und die Modellbauwerkstatt mit Bohrmaschinen, Fräsen und Drehbänken. Die Rohstoffe wurden von der Clemens-Schultz-Straße aus angeliefert und in einer eingeschossigen Halle gelagert. Insgesamt sollen rund 100 Arbeiter bei "Schenck & Co." gearbeitet haben. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde 1943 ein großer Teil des Fabrikgebäudes durch Bomben zerstört. Vierzig Jahre später wurde "Schenck & Co." stillgelegt.

Digitales Modell des east Hotels

Die Entstehung des East Hotels

Einige Jahre stand die alte Eisengießerei leer, bis die Idee aufkam hier ein gastronomisches Gesamtkonzept zu etablieren.

In nur 36 Monaten Bauzeit wurde das Hotelprojekt mit Gastronomie und Tagungsräumlichkeiten fertig gestellt und am 28. Oktober 2004 eröffnet.