The sun risesin the east
The sun rises
in the east
The sun rises
in the east
The design hotel east Hamburg on St. Pauli has 172 uniquely designed rooms in different categories and sizes from 25m² to 70m². The rooms are equipped with free-standing beds, modern technical equipment and open-plan bathrooms. Each room has a king-size bed, free WiFi with a speed of up to 15 Mbit/s, air conditioning, Sky entertainment TV, Bluetooth speaker, minibar, safe and desk.
The east Hotel Hamburg has been part of the Preferred Hotel Group since January 1st, 2018. Preferred Hotels & Resorts is the world's largest independent hotel brand and represents more than 650 exceptional hotels, resorts and small hotel groups in over 85 countries.
The five globally operating collections - Legend, LVX, Lifestyle, Connect and Preferred Residences - provide discerning travelers with a unique and luxurious travel experience for every occasion.
The so-called excellence standards of the Preferred Hotel Group are checked annually on site by professional, anonymous third-party providers. We are particularly pleased to have been selected as the Hamburg Lifestyle Preferred Hotel by Preferred Hotels & Resorts.
The east design hotel opened in 2004 at a historic location. Before 1850, a factory building with foundry furnaces was built on the site. In 1851 the factory was destroyed to the ground by a fire. In 1888 the “St. Pauli Eisenwerke R. Lohse & Co”.
Just four years later, part of the factory was destroyed again by another fire, but it was rebuilt in the same year. The iron works became the "Eisengießerei und Maschinenfabrik Schenck & Co." The foundry with the ovens and casting pans was located on the ground floor of the main hall (today: Yakshi's bar, restaurant, reception).
The coal for firing the stoves was delivered via the casemates (today: part of the east restaurant) on Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse. The "mechanical processing" and the model making workshop with drilling machines, milling machines and lathes were located on the upper floor. The raw materials were delivered from Clemens-Schultz-Strasse and stored in a single-storey hall. A total of around 100 workers at "Schenck & Co." have worked. During the Second World War, a large part of the factory building was destroyed by bombs in 1943. Forty years later, "Schenck & Co." shut down.
The old iron foundry stood empty for a few years until the idea of establishing an overall gastronomic concept came up.
The hotel project with catering and conference facilities was completed in just 36 months of construction and opened on October 28, 2004.